WCF Under 21 Golf Croquet World Championship 2019

The WCF Under 21 Golf Croquet World Championship 2019 will be held at the Nottingham Croquet Club in England from Saturday, 20 July to Wednesday, 24 July 2019 in accordance with version 4.9 of the Event Regulations and version 8.9 of the Sports Regulations.

The event website can be found here.


24 entries remain confirmed and are shown below (ordered by country and surname).

If a player with a Membership Place withdraws, their WCF Member may nominate an eligible replacement within 14 days.

1   Jamie Gumbrell AUS
2   Mohamed Rashad EGY
3   Yasser Sayed EGY
4   Karim Yasser Amaar EGY
5   Euan Burridge ENG
6   Callum Johnson ENG
7   Nathan Bullen NZL
8   Isobel-Alan Ward NZL
9   Edmund Fordyce NZL
10   Jeffrey Gatchell NZL
11   Jason Hodgett NZL
12   Kaleb Small NZL
13   Christopher Spittal NZL
1   Charles Sharpe AUS
2   Smilla Vinnen DEU
3   James Galpin ENG
4   Eden Rogers ENG
5   Albie Willetts ENG
6   Santiago Alvarez-Sala Jnr ESP
7   Nils Reisners LVA
8   Logan McCorkindale NZL
9   Eleanor Ross NZL
10   Jared Bassman USA
11   Blake Fields USA


2019 Women's Golf Croquet World Championship

Women's Golf Croquet World Championship

Hawkes Bay, New Zealand - Saturday, 2 February to Saturday, 9 February 2019

Following the passing of the Closing Date on Sunday, 23 September 2018, 18 Membership Places and 34 Ranking Places have been awarded.

The names of the 52 competitors and those on the Reserve List are set out below.

The Event Website may be found here.

Qualifying Tournament

The Event Capacity is 56.  The four unallocated places are available for the top four finishers in a Qualifying Tournament to be held at Rangatira Croquet Club, Dannevirke from Wednesday, 30 to Thursday, 31 January 2019.

The Qualifying Tournament may be entered by clicking here.

COMPETITORS as at 8 November 2018  
1   Marwa Abdelrazek EGY
2   Maha El Derdiri EGY
3   Iman El Faransawi EGY
4   Mervat El Shazli EGY
5   Perihan El Waei EGY
6   Mona Hegazi EGY
7   Manal Khoudeir EGY
8   Abeer Mostafa EGY
9   Soha Mostafa EGY
10   Maram Nabil EGY
11   Shadin Oukasha EGY
12   Hanan Rashad EGY
13   Pauline Salib EGY
14   Virginia Arney AUS
15   Tricia Devlin AUS
16   Wendy Dickson AUS
17   Kate Logan AUS
18   Karen Magee AUS
19   Janine McHardy AUS
20   Kate McLoughlin AUS
21   Anna Miller AUS
22   Rosemary Newsham AUS
23   Bernie Pfitzner AUS
24   Alison Sharpe AUS
25   Judith Wembridge AUS
26   Brenda Wild AUS
27   Ann Brookes ENG
28   Kathleen Burt ENG
29   Jane Pringle ENG
30   Jayne Stevens ENG
31   Begona Elzaburu ESP
32   Paz Gonzalez de Aguilar ESP
33   Nicola Kelly IRL
34   Mary Martin IRL
35   Patricia Anderton NZL
36   Sally Cole NZL
37   Ashley Cooke NZL
38   Dallas Cooke NZL
39   Annie Henry NZL
40   Moya Lewis NZL
41   Helen Reeves NZL
42   Sue Roberts NZL
43   Eleanor Ross NZL
44   Sonya Sedgwick NZL
45   Ann Sharp NZL
46   Susan Truman NZL
47   Phyllis Young NZL
48   Lorna Dewar SCO
49   Rosemary Saunders-Robertson SCO
50   Cheryl Bromley USA
51   Donna Dixon USA
52   Sandra Knuth USA
1   Cynthia Tacey AUS
2   Anne Woodhouse AUS
3   Lynette Grant NZL
4   Nola Batchelor NZL
5   Geraldine Trivett AUS
6   Noeline Posselt NZL
7   Claire Keating AUS
8   Norma Greig AUS
9   Vanessa Hanna NZL
10   Susan McKessar NZL
11   Karen Johnston NZL
12   Leila Martin NZL
13   Diane Charteris NZL
14   Joan Cook NZL
15   Julianne Jago AUS
16   Nuran Melksham AUS
17   Patricia Lester NZL
18   Jayne Powis NZL




Current World Champions

The Current World Champions

The principal function of the WCF is to organise the holding of World Championships in both Association Croquet and Golf Croquet.  These are divided into three categories - the premier or open singles events, the restricted singles events and the team events.


The premier World Championships

The Association Croquet World Championship and the Golf Croquet World Championship are the two individual World Championships.  Their entry is unrestricted and they are normally held every two years.


Stephen Mulliner (England), champion since April 2016.  The next ACWC will be held in Wellington, New Zealand in February 2018.


Reg Bamford (South Africa), champion since March 2017.  The next GCWC will be held in England in July/August 2019.


The restricted World Championships

There are four restricted individual World Championships which are held every four years except for the Under 21 Golf Croquet World Championship which is held shortly before each Golf Croquet World Championship.

Women's Association Croquet

Miranda Chapman (England), champion since August 2015.  The next WACWC will be held in 2019.

Women's Golf Croquet

Judith Hanekom (South Africa), champion since November 2014.  The next WGCWC will be held in 2018.

Over 50 Golf Croquet

Salah Hassan (Egypt), champion since October 2014.  The next Over-50 GCWC will be held in 2018.

Under 21 Golf Croquet

Felix Webby (New Zealand), champion since February 2017.  The next Under 21 GCWC will be held in 2019.


The team World Championships


Tier 1 - the MacRobertson Shield

Australia, champions since May 2017.  The next MacRobertson Shield contest will be held in Australia in 2021.

Tier 2.1

Wales, holders since July 2017.  The next Tier 2.1 championship will be held in 2021.

Tier 2.2

Canada and Sweden, joint holders since July 2017.  The next Tier 2.2 championship will be held in 2021.

Tier 3

Germany, holders since July 2017.  The next Tier 3 championship will be held in 2021.



Tier 1 - the Openshaw Shield

New Zealand, champions since May 2016.  The next Tier 1 championship will be held in 2020.

Tier 2

Australia, holders since May 2016.  The next Tier 2 championship will be held in 2020.

Tier 3

Norway, holders since May 2016.  The next Tier 3 championship will be held in 2020.


The History of Croquet World Championships

The WCF was founded in 1988 and celebrated the first Association Croquet World Championship in September 1989 at the Hurlingham Club in south-west London.  The recognition of Golf Croquet as a serious alternative code gathered pace in the early 1990s, assisted by the discovery of Egypt as a powerhouse of GC expertise.  This led to the holding of the first Golf Croquet World Championship in Italy in 1996.

Continue Reading